Voter's Pledge from VoteNader.org

Voter’s Pledge

I pledge to vote because it is my civic duty to be, in Thomas Jefferson’s word, a ‘participator’ in our democratic society, and because the power brokers, the big boys, would rather I not vote at all. I pledge never to vote for any elected official or candidate who has regularly voted against me, my family, my community and the health, safety and well-being of my fellow Americans. I pledge to spend sufficient time learning about the records of the candidates and about the subjects that I want them to seriously campaign for until Election Day. I pledge to strive to meet the candidates or at least urge that they meet with citizens in real time, as in a local auditorium, for two way questions and answers. I pledge to urge my circle of friends, relatives and co-workers to vote, and in so doing, engage them in conversations about the improvement of our society for us and our descendants. Finally, I pledge to urge appropriate people to run for elective office, especially at the local level, where they are capable of advancing the public interest.

I am a logical, open-minded, liberal, progressive, radical, green, independent individual living in the heart of Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas, amongst apparently brainwashed conservative southern Baptist Republican zombies. I'm tired of the lies of the government and their media mouthpieces and their corporate masters. I'm tired of the cheating and the stealing and the killing. I'm ready for the future. But the only way we are going to fix things is to all band together and say NO MORE! We have to start punishing the rich white collar criminals as harshly as the poor black blue-collar criminals, if not more so. And I'm tired of cults (AKA religions). They are dangerous, divisive, and delusional. We should evolve past religions towards a global humanitarian ethics. We should move away from a new world order and get back to city states with local democracy, power, food, and water.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in voting

Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Mark Baland


This blog has moved to mark.baland.net/blog.

Top Clicks
  • None
Blog Stats
  • 3,324 hits
Flickr Photos
Sunset clouds on fire





More Photos
