Patriotism

I’ve got a message for all the angry, naive, hateful, fearful hillbillies, rednecks, white collars, elderly, and various other conservative republican zombies out there:

How can “YOU PEOPLE” throw around so much shit about whether Obama stands for an anthem, or wears a flag pin, when your candidates and politicians of choice, the old, Caucasian, red-white-blue wearing, propaganda spouting, close-minded, supposedly Christian (apart from lying, cheating, stealing, killing, and being mostly homosexuals) guys buy and sell the common man like an expendable commodity?

Barack “Hussein” Obama is no more of a threat to America than George “Hitler” Bush or John “Hitler” McCain. Now, I know that their middle names are not actually Hitler, but if they were, for the Democrats to automatically associate them with Adolph would be as silly as the way Republicans associate Barack with Saddam. Maybe the white politicians are not Muslim, or of Middle Eastern descent, or are bigger fans of flag pins and salutes and the national anthem, but while I suppose that it is possible, I highly doubt that Barack Obama can do any more damage to our failing empire than is already being done by the old white dudes, who I might add trained and funded and used Saddam and Osama.

The Republicans only “protect” America from the “enemies” that they created. Put that in your red, white, and blue pipe and smoke it.

To get off on a tangent for a moment, I don’t think that “honor thy father and thy mother” from the bible should apply if your father and mother are rapists or murderers. In that same vein, I feel that patriotism for one’s country should be earned, not just granted.

When I was a child, and in the Boy Scouts (I am an Eagle Scout, actually), I was taught, for the most part, by public school and my parents, and the Scouts (which I now feel is just a para-military organization to prepare young men to go and die in needless wars to make old men richer) that America was the good guys. I wore flag badges and saluted and so on,.

But when I grew up, and saw what the working world was like, and watched the news, and paid attention to the actualaties of our world, I began to see this country for what it really is and what it really does. I am patriotic about ideas of what America might have been, not about some colors or words or songs, regardless of what they have come to represent. Blind patriotism is no better than religious fanatisicm or any other psychological disorder.

And before I get any comments saying “love it or leave it”, please keep in mind that were I financially able, I would leave it. Until that time, I have to say “love it or fix/change/improve it”, and since that seems almost impossible at this point, and I don’t have the power on my own to do so, I leave you with “love it or dislike it but at least argue about it”. Isn’t that more American than love it or leave it anyway, since we are supposedly both a democracy and a melting pot?

I am a logical, open-minded, liberal, progressive, radical, green, independent individual living in the heart of Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas, amongst apparently brainwashed conservative southern Baptist Republican zombies. I'm tired of the lies of the government and their media mouthpieces and their corporate masters. I'm tired of the cheating and the stealing and the killing. I'm ready for the future. But the only way we are going to fix things is to all band together and say NO MORE! We have to start punishing the rich white collar criminals as harshly as the poor black blue-collar criminals, if not more so. And I'm tired of cults (AKA religions). They are dangerous, divisive, and delusional. We should evolve past religions towards a global humanitarian ethics. We should move away from a new world order and get back to city states with local democracy, power, food, and water.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in ceremony, conformity, corruption, discrimination, diversity, fanaticism, future, history, islam, lifestyle, opinion, patriotism, philosophy, politics, protest, psychology, public opinion, reform, senility, society, tradition
One comment on “Patriotism
  1. nmmillan says:

    If I was financially able, I’d be leaving too. Great post.

Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Mark Baland


This blog has moved to mark.baland.net/blog.

Top Clicks
  • None
Blog Stats
  • 3,309 hits
Flickr Photos
Sunset clouds on fire





More Photos
